What I’ve learned

Standard

Yikes! I knew it had been a long time since I posted here on WordPress.com, but I didn’t realize it had been 2 months! That just proves how busy FLOOF Collage pARTy! has kept me, in my home-based art studio, and with FLOOF-on-the-GO.

It’s taken 4 years, but it appears that folks are finally finding out that I exist! In the last 2 months, I have been at 2 schools for after-school or vacation day enrichment programs, have been approached by two more, and by the local counseling service.

A big holiday party with FLOOF-on-the-GO is coming up soon. Today I used the clean-up after a birthday party for 12 seven-year-olds to accumulate my supplies for the next Collage pARTy! That made choosing the found objects and recycled materials easy – whatever the kids left on the floor or in their baskets after their projects were finished went right into the Holiday Party Bucket.

I love observing how kids make choices in deciding the “what” and “how” of their projects. At the party today, there was the usual variety of types of child artist: The careful, thoughtful builder, the hunter/gatherer who is mostly interested in accumulating objects to take home rather than constructing anything, and the speed demon, who finishes quickly and with no concern for logical positioning. Of course, kids fall in all kinds of areas on the spectrum among those extremes.

It is fascinating to me to watch the creative process evolve. I love listening to the children freely express themselves with art materials without worrying about making a mess, or being quiet, Sometimes I wish I had a recorder to capture what they say as they are assembling their work. The spirit of cooperation is evident as kids bounce ideas off each other and share materials, or make suggestions when someone is struggling with a concept or its execution.

One pair of girls are in the same class, and worked collaborately to make one single sculpture on fiberboard. They talked about how they were going to share it, because they had never been to each other’s home. I think a new playdate arose out of their combined work, as they spoke of bringing it from one home to another for a month or two. We’ll see what happens, because one of the girls said “My Mom thinks we already have too much art”.  That made me laugh, as they are only seven!

Photos will be posted on my Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/floofcollageparty.

Leave a Reply

