Gratification

Standard

Yikes! I didn’t realize how long it has been since my last post! I’ve been super busy, with children’s birthday parties at FCp!, writing a speech I’m about to give in June about my origins as a fiber artist (more about that later), and taking “FLOOF-on-the-GO” to a couple of places in town for small-scale art-making.

Today was the second time in 2013 I’ve had Open Studio for the Greater Ithaca Art Trail First Saturday. A faithful friend who always attends my events came, and I enlisted her help to sell some of my work on EBay. There’s a neighbor I see walking almost every day past my shop (which is attached my home) who came in today to see what we’re about. He’s going to help me poster the nearby appartments for my next Open Studio!

But the most exciting moment was when two women whom I’ve never met stopped by. One was from Binghamton, 45 minutes away, bringing her art-teacher friend from Newfield, a mere 15 minutes away. The art tour was a break from providing care for her Mom.

The local woman’s comment made my day, as she hugged me and squealed with delight:”Ooh, I think I’ve found my new home!” Now THAT’s what I love to hear.

I invited her back tomorrow for an Ithaca Singles Art-Making Party that is happening at FCp! in the afternoon. After she comes back, I think I will have a friend for life!

About FLOOF Collage pARTy!

I'm a self-taught artist who has been showing mixed media collage, textile art, and photography for ten years. My goal is to help people find the hidden artist within by encouraging creativity individually or in a group. Over the last ten years, I have accumulated more materials than I could possibly use in two lifetimes; most are recycled and reclaimed. By encouraging people to be unafraid to let their inner artist loose, I hope to build community, open hearts to healing, and promote relaxation.

Leave a Reply

